top of page

Bill's Bloody Brilliant Banana Bread


In the name of #BananaDay I have decided to share the most brilliant banana bread recipe I have ever come across (thanks Bill Granger).

This was one of the first things I ever learnt to bake and probably the first real reason I took any interest in food at all!

It was a mystery to me how I could turn 4 black bananas (I am not a fan of banana's at their brightest yellow either) into the most tummy warming bread ever!

At First Bite the chocolate melts in your mouth, the bread is light and their is a ever so gentle hit of banana-ery goodness, add some butter to the bread (always serve warm) and you realise the potential you have to eat the entire loaf in one sitting!

My advice: If you don't belive me try it yourself!

(Warning: this is not gluten/wheat/sugar/fat-free and is probably the reason it tastes so damn delicious)

Ingredients

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

125g butter, softened

4 ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup chocolate (ususally I just smash up a bar of chocolate, this time I used lindt easter bunnies)

1 cup caster sugar

Method

Preheat oven to 180 C.

Sift flour and baking powder into a bowl.

Mix butter, bananas, eggs, vanilla, chocolate and sugar in a bowl.

Add dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Pour batter into a greased and lightly floured loaf tin and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes.

Leave to cool.

Serve warm (and best enjoyed with a cup of tea).

Follow At First Bite
 
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page