top of page

Oh my! Ou Meul


Working in Bree street (a street named after a cheese is bound to be filled with good food options) is possibly the best and worst thing that has happened to me... the best because my options for lunch are endless, the worst because I often find myself tactically leaving my lunch at home and spending dollar to enjoy a delicious treat from the streets of Bree, Loop and Long.

A rainy Thursday called for something warm and scrumptious... and Ou Meul Bakkery was exactly that.

A cappuccino and steak pie (with a side of roast veg) was promptly ordered and never have I ever been so satisfied by something served in a mere 15 minutes.

Everything from the decor to the sass of our waitress made me love Ou Meul that little bit more, and it was at first bite that I completely surrended to the goodness that is the bakery on Loop street. The steak pie was every bit creamy, meaty and crispy as you would want it to be... The peppery flavours dance on your taste buds as the pastry gently dissolves on your tongue. It may even be problematic as to how good this meal was - and at only R27 the pies are definitely well within my winter budget - just maybe not my jean size!

Ou Meul is the best-kept secret of the Bree, Loop, Long region and I am so glad I have discovered it.

My Advice: go for a pie to warm your wintery days, I suggest the steak or babotie... but you just go with what your heart desires (or what your waitress insists on!)

Ou Meul Bakkery:14 Long Street, De Waterkant, Cape Town

Follow At First Bite
 
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page