top of page

Hot off the Press


Being a true Matie I often make my way back to the little dorp of Stellies to visit friends and family that are still squeking takkie on the dance floors of Terrace and Tollies. These visits often include at least one mouth watering meal which either include a strong dose of caffeine or a few glasses of wine.

One of my favourite places to go in Stellenbosch is Schoon De Companje, not only do I have some favouritism after working there in my final year of studying, but it is one of the few places you can rely on to serve you the exactly what you are craving; from decadent pastries and ice cream to creamy scrambled eggs, you won't be dissapointed by the range of pizza's either! My most favourite option is lunch - where I find myself returning to the Quinoa Fritter Salad time and time again!

On one of my visits to catch up with my brothers and sister, we decided to meet for lunch at Schoon De Companje. Trying to break out a little I shared a Quinoa Salad and a Bacon & Leek Hotpress with my sister.

The Quinoa salad was as usual the perfect mix of crunch from the Quinoa fritters and almonds, a sharp tang from the pickled pears all rounded up with the sweet cranberrys and tied together with the parmesan dressing. The perfect salad!

The Bacon & Leek Hotpress had a difficult job of impressing but at first bite it did just that. Being a bakery, the sourdough was light and perfectly toasted with the mustard cream cheese giving the sandwich the perfect kick - to be honest when there is bacon there is not much you can do wrong!

My advice: if you find yourself in Stellenbosch, start your visit with at least a coffee and chocolate stick from Schoon De Companje. If coffee isn't your thing go for the pink juice... if not there is always wine!

Schoon De Companje: Oude Bank Building, 7 Church Street, Stellenbosch.

Follow At First Bite
 
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page